Saturday, December 14, 2002

Carson Palmer wins the Heisman Trophy. The big surprise clearly was the margin of victory, by over 200 votes. Brad Banks, who will face off against Palmer in the Orange Bowl, was a surprising second, followed by Larry Johnson, Willis McGahee, and pre-season favorite Ken Dorsey. The latter two were clearly hurt by how impressive the Hurricanes have been over the past three years; the impression is that no matter who Miami runs out there, he is going to have very good numbers. Although Dorsey was clearly using the occasion to fire up himself and his teammates for a lack of respect, Palmer ran up better numbers playing with an over-achieving team, and deserved the award.


Post a Comment

<< Home